Let there be LIGHT!

First things first.  Our very first home improvement project was to change the kitchen nook light fixture.  The one the builder provides was nothin’ special, actually, it was pretty terrible.  I knew that I wanted something that would look great with a vintage Edison bulb.  I hope you all have seen these — the light bulbs alone add instant charm!

 

 

I searched for inspiration and saw that the folks from Young House Love (younghouselove.com) had just installed the most beautiful ORB fixtures over their kitchen peninsula.  I went to the Shades of Light online store and saw that they had the same fixture in brushed nickel.  It was love at first light! 😉 I ordered it early, so we could install this baby as soon as we moved in!

Thanks to my awesome DIYing Mom, we installed the fixture on move-in day.  It’s basically my favorite part of the kitchen… and the edison bulb is perfect!

Excuse the disgusting pile of junk on the kitchen table.  It was moving day!  In the chaos that is moving, I forgot to take a before picture, but you’ll have to trust me, that fixture had to go!  We’re so happy with the way it turned out.

What do you think?  I’ll be sure to feature our new fixture baby in future posts so you can see it in all of it’s glory (and without a pile trying to steal the spotlight.)

Until next time…

A

Leave a Reply

